A personal account of Sex Slavery.

From survivor Selina D.

Please take the time to read this powerful story!

 

I was seven when I was first sold to a man in a motel by my own mother.
sad_silhouette

She continued to sell me until I got old enough to run away. I was 14 two short years after escaping my abusive mother, who was an addict and alcoholic. I found myself on the streets of Hollywood trying to make it as a musician. I sang for my supper literally and though it was hard I was free.

A man would often come to hear me sing he would request amazing grace every time I’d oblige. He would talk to me sometimes of God and charity and of street kids like me. He seemed kind. One day he made me an offer I couldn’t refuse, to meet a music producer friend of his. After all, I had a beautiful voice that the world should hear. “A gift that should be used,” as he put it.

We met the next day as planned. I got in the car, and we were on our way. We drove a little outside Hollywood and chatted about music, where I was from, and his two kids. To be honest the next part is a bit hazy but from what I remember he stuck me with a needle.

I awoke to the smell of hay and animals. My eyes could hardly open. I felt so strange and weak. I was gagged and chained to a barn stall.

For the next year and a half, I was traded at parties and made to work day and night. I was beaten, raped, sodomized, and tortured.  Sometimes not fed for days, made to be in my own filth –  those were punishments if you failed to keep working. I was a slave again!

What the people that took me didn’t realize or bargain for is that I had faced evil before. I was strong, stronger than they thought. Stronger than my mother thought, even though I felt dead inside and at times wanted to die.
I held on. I told myself over and over again, “you can get through this!” I held on to hope because I had escaped hell before.

One day at a restaurant I told “him” I had to use the bathroom. He let me go as, I had gone many times before. So compliant I am.
We were at a truck stop. I went into the restroom and stared at the window for a little bit thinking of what I would do once I got out of the window.
I pulled myself up and pulled myself out. I stayed close to side of the building with my heart racing. I spotted a truck and it crawled in the back.

I remember trembling I was so scared – what if they they caught me? where was I going? what was I going to do? I didn’t care All I knew is I was free.

I am 41 now. I live a beautiful simple and blessed life with two beautiful daughters and my best friend who is my husband.

It is a life that I never thought I’d see. It as a life that I feel so grateful to have.
This is just a piece of my story. I have told no one except my husband until writing this.
I am telling my story now to heal and to help others heal and also to raise more awareness to this modern-day slavery. There are so many suffering and being held against their will, all over the world; and it seems we need to do more about it.  People need to know. My hope is that someday all women and children everywhere will be free from these horrible acts on humanity.

“do not weep for me I am free”

One thought on “A personal account of Sex Slavery.

  1. Congratulations on taking your life back Selina. You are so powerful. I know what it is like. I was also sold by my family and by others. I have also taken my life back. It is our right to be free.

Leave a Reply

